347 Miles and 1 Corny Toe

After leaving Idyllwild, I hiked out of the San Jacinto Mountains and descended over 7000 ft. back to the desert floor. After completing a 28 mile day, I arrived at trail angels Ziggy and the Bear where at least 60 other hikers were gathered. First they give you a bucket with warm water and let you soak and clean your dirty feet. I had missed the salad dinner but was definitely in time for the ice cream sundaes.

Looking Back one day to Fuller Ridge
In the Whitewater Creek Basin looking back just one day ago to Fuller Ridge.

And yes, what goes down must certainly go back up. It was a big climb into the San Bernadino Mountains to get to the next resupply town, Big Bear. After staying one night at the hostel in Big Bear Lake, it was back to the mountains. As I traversed around the North side of the lake, my allergies really started to set it. The post nasal drip ran my throat raw resulting in a mostly lost voice and painful swallowing. Further complicating the issue was that I could not breathe through my nose and constantly had my mouth hanging open, further drying the throat. Ouch.

G Dub hiking through a burned zone after Big Bear. It was an extremely windy day and we could hear trees going down all around us.
G Dub hiking through a burned zone after Big Bear. It was an extremely windy day and we could hear trees going down all around us.

I spent a couple days at the Cajon Pass Best Western recuperating. I headed back to the trail, prepared to climb the next mountain range, the San Garbriels. After hiking 5 miles, I had to stop due to the extreme pain in my foot. A semi swollen toe had taken a turn for the worse. After making it back to the trail head I was rescued by my Uncle Phil and Aunt Donna who live a couple hours drive from Cajon Pass. A podiatrist appointment yesterday confirmed that I had an infection raging and was put on antibiotics. I am lucky and will hopefully be back on trail in a weeks time. So for now, I am enjoying this time visiting with family even though hiking is not far from my thoughts.

The big boot to protect my infected toe.
The big boot to protect my infected toe.

Make sure to check out my journal on postholer (the class of 2013 link above) for all the daily, oozing details.

Leave a Reply

