Mile 789 – Escape The Desert, Welcome Sierra

After skipping Section D, I got back on trail at mile 454. I’ve now hiked about another 300 miles and have just started traversing the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Just after I left Agua Dulce, I hiked 24 miles to trail angel home Casa De Luna, adjacent to where the Powerhouse fire started. Due to the fire, the PCT was closed and I had to skip another 40 miles (but I hiked them before!).

Casa De Luna front yard hiker hang out
Casa De Luna front yard hiker hang out
The Powerhouse fire billows
The Powerhouse fire billows

Next was 17 miles of Los Angeles aqueduct walk which netted a beautiful sunrise, a look back at the continually growing fire and running out of water in the Mojave Desert. Gulp!

Aqueduct Sunrise
Aqueduct Sunrise
Fire finds new fuel behind us
Fire finds new fuel behind us

After a nero in Tehachapi, we skirted the Mojave Desert once again in some of the hottest temperatures of the year. After I took an unexpected rest day in Lake Isabella, I finally arrived at Kennedy Meadows, the official end to the Southern California section. Yeah!

Imagine trying to find shade under a Joshua Tree
Imagine trying to find shade under a Joshua Tree
Just a few miles before Kennedy Meadows, the gate to the Southern Sierra
Just a few miles before Kennedy Meadows, the gate to the Southern Sierra

Rather than dodging the sun, the Sierra had me seeking it out. It’s cold up here! The Sierra Nevada is a breathtaking place, one which everyone should have a chance to visit. The high elevation and climbing over tall passes makes for shorter mile days. “I only went out for a walk and finally concluded to stay out until sundown, for going out, I found, was really going in.” ~John Muir

I find Fox Tail Pine to be more beautiful in death
I find Fox Tail Pine to be more beautiful in death
Crabtree Meadow, the launching ground for a Mt. Whitney summit
Crabtree Meadow – the launching ground for a Mt. Whitney summit attempt
Bighorn Plateau - full of cute, grazing marmots
Bighorn Plateau – full of cute, grazing marmots
Forester Pass, the highest point on the PCT!
Forester Pass, the highest point on the PCT!
Kearsarge Lakes
Kearsarge Lakes

You know the routine….if you want to catch my daily journal, click the Class of 2013 at the top of the sidebar.

Leave a Reply

