Day 11: More Bus and then Train plus some Bay and Birthday

October 20
Mileage 6
Santa Cruz to San Francisco

I roll over in my bunk because someones alarm is going off. The guy, who has the cushy no-bunk bed and is taking up 1/4 of the room with his stuff, gathers his surf board and heads out. I get up not long after and take a shower. Late last night I messaged Hannah, whose birthday is today. The plan was to meet in Santa Rosa but that seems be falling through and so I suggest San Francisco. That’s the new plan which makes my day a whole lot easier.

I bus to San Jose at the Diridon Station where I catch Caltrain to SF. The bus arrives in Santa Cruz a good 10 minutes late which figures since I got there WAY early this time. No more missing early buses! I arrive in SF just before 1pm as the rain drops from the sky. I stand there waiting. Reading the sky, sending it the message. I want to ride around the bay. Do you hear my sky? But, I don’t want to do it in the rain. A few more minutes and the rain stops. I say thank you and I’m on my way.

It’s a wonderful parade. AT&T Park, Bay Bridge, Ferry Building, Pier 39, Fisherman’s Wharf, Hyde Street Cable Car, Ghirardelli Square, Fort Mason, Marina Green, Palace of Fine Arts.

image
Fort Mason
image
Palace of Fine Arts

Birthday girl Hannah shows up with Coincidence, my dear 2013 PCT buds. My mom, who’s in SF for business, joins the three of us for dinner. We wander the streets a bit but finally find the perfect spot. Eventually we sing and make Hannah turn red. Good food, good conversation, the perfect birthday.

Leave a Reply

